Grandpa’s Slice – My Favourite Easy Slice Recipe

26 Jul

A few years ago my friend shared this recipe with me. It was dubbed ‘Grandpa’s Slice’ by her children, as their Grandmother made it often for their Grandfather.

The thing that really appeals to me about it is that you make it with simple pantry ingredients, and it really is so quick to throw together and pop in the oven. If you have people dropping round unexpectedly, you can have it in the oven within roughly 10 minutes! That’s pretty fast, and is so much nicer to serve up than something bought from the supermarket.

I also use it for the kid’s school lunchboxes – I know it may not be the healthiest of options, but at least I know what’s in it, and it’s a special treat for them.

The recipe (below) uses 1 cup of ingredients of choice. By this I mean you can use one ingredient such as chocolate, or you could combine 2 or 3 different ingredients, such as coconut, rolled oats and chocolate chips, to make up the cup. It really is up to you, and what you might have available in the pantry at the time.

I usually pick up a block of Cadbury chocolate when I see it on special – that way I always have something handy. I do, however, hide the chocolate somewhere so it is still there when I want to use it for the slice!! Numerous times I’ve had to change the hiding location as the kids keep finding it!

Recipe –

125g butter

¾ cup brown sugar firmly packed

1 cup self-raising flour

1 egg

1 cup of ingredients of your choice

Set oven at 180 degrees C.

Grease or spray a slice or lamington tin.

Melt butter in a saucepan with brown sugar and mix well.

Still working in the saucepan, mix in the self-raising flour, then the egg.

Finally add the cup of ingredients of your choice.

Place in oven and bake for approx. 15 mins or until the top is browned.

If you like a crunchier texture, bake for slightly longer.

Suggested ingredients – your favourite block of chocolate (my favourite is Cadbury Top Deck and I use the whole block rather than just a cup), M & M’s, coconut, rolled oats, dried fruit, Peppermint Crisp, Mint Slice or Tim Tams, Crunchie bars, Mars Bars, Turkish Delight, marshmallows, chocolate chips, Scotch Finger biscuits. So many options!!!

Keep trying until you find your favourite ingredient, or combination of ingredients. Store in an airtight container for up to a week.

Hopefully you will enjoy making it, and eating it of course, as much as my family do!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

